-A A A+

Waldkliniken Eisenberg

Patient safety

A high degree of safety is what you expect and what we aim to deliver.

With close to 1,000 operations in knee and hip arthroplasty as well as several hundred operations in the other fields of orthopaedics, we have a high level of routine practice and clinical experience.

Our qualities become apparent when you look at the short average duration of surgery in a Germany-wide comparison, considering the fact that a long duration of surgery has a proven detrimental influence on the rate of infection.

The effect is similar with regard to the shorter postoperative stay at our hospital. This also reduces the risk of infection and gets you back to your family more quickly.

DIn this way, we not only increase your quality of life, but also give you the possibility to get well again quickly in your own home surroundings.

 

Waldkliniken Eisenberg

 

What we do for you

In our institution, we have taken many measures that go far beyond the standards on the subject of patient safety in German hospitals.

 

The selection given below shows you why you are in the best of hands at the Waldkliniken Eisenberg.

 

Patient wristband

At admission, among other things you will be given your own personal patient wristband. This contains all of the necessary details of your identity and is designed to ensure your safety, for example when it comes to preparation for surgery, the administration of medication or transfer to a different ward.

 

If you have taken a look at our documentary series, you will have come across the expression for this coined by Sister Esta: “Our all-inclusive wristband”.

Extra shower

In order to free the surgical field as far as possible from germs, you will be given a shower set with an information brochure on how to use it on the evening before your operation. The special cleaning agents should then be used once or twice before the operation.

 

Swedish dispenser

Actually, they are officially called “point of care” dispensers and are used to disinfect the hands. However, the inspiration for them came from Sweden, which explains why they were given this name.

 

A Swedish dispenser is attached to the end of every bed and is thus always within your field of vision and reachable within an arm’s length for the medical staff. The easy accessibility of disinfectants at the “Point of Care”, the area in which infection-critical tasks are carried out, is an important measure in the field of patient safety.

A functioning hand disinfection has been proved to lower the risk of infection by around 50 percent. It therefore goes without saying for us to make use of this possibility.

We thus implemented a recommendation of the World Health Organization (WHO) at an early stage and have established it at the Waldkliniken Eisenberg – an important fact, considering that this dispenser is not an accepted standard in German hospitals.

Clean hands campaign

In 2017, we were the only hospital in eastern Thuringia to be given the gold award by the "Clean hands campaign". The Waldkliniken Eisenberg belong to the 35 institutions with the gold certificate of the national campaign for the improvement of hand disinfection in German healthcare facilities. More than 1,000 healthcare institutions took part in this campaign.

 

It has been demonstrated that our employees are aware of the importance of permanently maintaining hygiene standards. These standards apply to hand hygiene for five relevant situations, as defined by the WHO (World Health Organization): before contact with the patient, before aseptic activities, after contact with potential infectious material, after contact with the patient, as well as after contact with surfaces in the immediate vicinity of the patient.

Surgical safety checklist

An important instrument for increasing patient safety in operations are surgical safety checklists. Again, we have substantially implemented a recommendation of the World Health Organization (WHO) here.

 

The checklist is divided into three phases: The time before anaesthesia, the phase before the first incision, and the moment before the surgery patient leaves the operating theatre again.

Our surgery team takes all the time required to exclude all sources of error, as far as possible, in advance. With the aid of this questionnaire, your safety is decisively improved.

The Surgical Safety Checklist of the WHO

MDRO screening

The objective of MDRO screening is to identify asymptomatic carriers of multi-drug resistant organisms (for example, bacteria such as MRSA against which certain antibiotics are no longer effective), in order to take hygiene measures above and beyond the basic hygiene standards.

 

The term screening denotes the active and targeted search for persons carrying MDROs, regardless of whether or not they display clinical symptoms.

To this end, we will give you a questionnaire in advance, which you can complete with our help. If there is any suspicion that you might be carrying a multi-drug resistant organism, an MDRO schedule tailored to your individual needs will come into play as the situation requires, which will ensure you have the highest degree of safety on your way to surgery.

If patients test positive, the date of surgery is generally pushed back, so that the patient has a chance to recover from the infection. This is done for your own safety and for the safety of other patients.

[Translate to Englisch:]

Sicher dank unserer Anästhesie

Infopaket

anfordern

Termin
Newsletter

DE
-A A A+

Waldkliniken Eisenberg

Patientensicherheit

Ein hohes Maß an Sicherheit ist Ihr Anliegen und unser Anspruch.

Mit je knapp 1.000 Operationen in der Knie- und Hüftendoprothetik sowie mehreren hundert Operationen in den anderen Bereichen der Orthopädie verfügen wir über ein großes Maß an Routine und Erfahrung.

Unsere Qualitäten werden auch an der im deutschlandweiten Vergleich kurzen durchschnittlichen OP-Dauer sichtbar, da eine lange OP-Dauer nachweislich Einfluss auf die Infektionsrate hat.

Ebenso verhält es sich mit der kürzeren postoperativen Verweildauer in unserem Haus. Diese reduziert ebenfalls die Gefahr von Infektionen und bringt Sie schneller zu Ihrer Familie zurück. 

Damit steigern wir einerseits Ihre Lebensqualität und geben Ihnen die Möglichkeit, im eigenen Umfeld schnell wieder gesund zu werden.

 

Waldkliniken Eisenberg

Was wir für Sie tun

Wir haben in unserem Haus viele Maßnahmen ergriffen, die weit über die Standards zum Thema Patientensicherheit an deutschen Krankenhäusern hinausgehen. 

Die untenstehende Auswahl zeigt Ihnen, warum Sie an den Waldkliniken Eisenberg in den besten Händen sind.

 

Patientenarmband

Bei Ihrer Aufnahme bekommen Sie u.a. Ihr persönliches Patientenarmband. Dieses enthält alle notwendigen Angaben zu Ihrer Identität und dient Ihrer Sicherheit, zum Beispiel bei der OP-Vorbereitung, Verabreichung von Medikamenten oder der Verlegung auf eine andere Station.

Wer schon einmal einen Blick unsere Doku-Serie geworfen hat, wird den von Schwester Esta geprägten Ausdruck dafür kennen: "Unser All-Inclusive-Band".

Extradusche

Um das OP-Gebiet soweit möglich von Keimen zu befreien, bekommen Sie am Abend vor Ihrer Operation ein Dusch-Set mit einer Informationsbroschüre zur Anwendung. Die speziellen Reinigungsmittel sollten dann ein- bzw. zweimal vor der OP angewendet werden.

Schwedischer Spender

Der offizielle Name lautet eigentlich "Point of Care"-Spender und dient zur Desinfektion der Hände. Wir haben uns diese Inspiration aber aus Schweden geholt und deshalb auch so genannt. 

Der Schwedische Spender ist am Ende eines jeden Bettes angebracht und somit immer in Ihrem Blickfeld sowie für die Behandelnden innerhalb einer Armlänge erreichbar. Die schnelle Verfügbarkeit von Desinfektionsmitteln im "Point of Care", dem Bereich, an dem infektionskritische Tätigkeiten erfolgen, ist eine bedeutende Maßnahme im Bereich der Patientensicherheit.

Eine funktionierende Händedesinfektion senkt das Infektionsrisiko nachweislich um rund 50 Prozent. Deshalb ist es für uns selbstverständlich, diese Möglichkeit zu nutzen. 

Damit haben wir frühzeitig eine Empfehlung der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) umgesetzt und an den Waldkliniken Eisenberg auch etabliert – denn Standard ist dieser Spender in deutschen Krankenhäusern nicht.

Aktion Saubere Hände

Die "Aktion Saubere Hände" hat uns 2017 als einziges Krankenhaus in Ostthüringen mit Gold ausgezeichnet. Die Waldkliniken Eisenberg gehörten zu den 35 Häusern mit dem Gold-Zertifikat der nationalen Kampagne zur Verbesserung der Händedesinfektion in deutschen Gesundheitseinrichtungen. Bei dieser Kampagne hatten über 1.000 Gesundheitseinrichtungen teilgenommen.

Unsere MitarbeiterInnen sind sich nachweislich bewusst, wie wichtig die permanente Einhaltung der Hygienestandards ist. Diese gelten bei der Händehygiene für fünf relevante Situationen, die die WHO (World Health Organisation) definiert hat: vor dem Patientenkontakt, vor aseptischen Tätigkeiten, nach Kontakt mit potenziell infektiösem Material, nach Patientenkontakt sowie nach Kontakt mit Oberflächen in unmittelbarer Umgebung des Patienten.

OP-Checkliste

Ein wichtiges Instrument zur Erhöhung der Patientensicherheit bei Operationen sind OP-Checklisten. Auch hier setzen wir maßgeblich eine Empfehlung der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) um. 

Die Checkliste ist dabei in 3 Phasen unterteilt: Die Zeit vor der Narkose, den Abschnitt vor dem ersten Schnitt und den Moment, bevor der Operierte den OP-Saal wieder verlässt. 

Unser OP-Team nimmt sich die nötige Zeit, um möglichst alle Fehlerquellen im Vorfeld auszuschließen. Mit Hilfe dieses Fragebogens wird Ihre Sicherheit weiter maßgeblich erhöht.

Die OP-Checkliste der WHO

MRE-Screening

Ziel des MRE-Screenings ist es, asymptomatische Träger multiresistenter Keime (Bakterien, bei denen einige Antibiotika nicht mehr wirken; z.B. MRSA) zu identifizieren, um gegebenenfalls über die Basishygiene hinausgehende Hygienemaßnahmen einzuleiten. 

Als Screening bezeichnet man die aktive und gezielte Suche nach MRE-besiedelten Personen unabhängig von klinischen Symptomen. 

Dafür geben wir Ihnen im Vorfeld einen Fragebogen, den Sie mit unserer Hilfe ausfüllen können. Sollte der Verdacht auf einen multiresistenten Erreger bestehen, greift das je nach Situation auf Sie zugeschnittene MRE-Schema, das Ihnen das höchste Maß an Sicherheit auf dem Weg zu Ihrer OP gewährleistet.

Bei positiv getesteten Patienten wird der OP-Termin in der Regel nach hinten verschoben, so dass die Patienten Zeit zum Auskurieren haben. Das geschieht zur eigenen Sicherheit und zur Sicherheit anderer Patienten. 

Infopaket

anfordern

Termin
Kontaktbild

Terminvereinbarung

Orthopädische Ambulanz

ambulanz(at)waldkliniken-eisenberg.de

036691 8-1602